Law is a set of rules that are created and enforced by the government and social institutions to correct behaviors. Law ensures that behaviors are regulated in a community and promotes equality. Sociology, on the other hand, is the study of society, culture, social interactions, and social relationships.
All states regulate and control the law regarding the possession of dangerous drugs. There are various definitions and penalties in regard to different drugs. Under the law in each state, drugs are classified according to how dangerous they are. For laws in Iowa, you can go to iowainterstatedruglawyer.com for additional knowledge. Classification aids the law in organizing the penalties a drug user may face if he violates the law.
Drugs are classified as below:
- Schedule 1 drugs – classified as the most addictive and dangerous drugs. Such drugs aren’t accepted for medical use. E.. some opiates, marijuana, and heroin.
- Schedule 2 drugs – These drugs have restricted medical use. They have the potential for addiction. Such drugs include oxycodone, raw opium, morphine, and cocaine.
- Schedule 3 drugs – They are lee powerful compared to drugs in schedule 1 and schedule2. They have moderate to low risk of abuse and are accepted for medical use. Such include depressants, anabolic steroids, and stimulants.
- Schedule 4 drugs – They have a low risk of abuse and are accepted for medical use. e.g. flurazepam and some depressants.
- Schedule 5 drugs – Have the lowest risk of addiction and abuse. They are least abused compared to schedule 4 drugs. E.g. pseudoephedrine.
For one to be charged with possession of drugs, there has to be a reason to believe that you abused the said drugs. You can be charged to have had the drugs if maybe they are found in your house, your car, or in your clothes. The sentence you get if charged with possession depends on your criminal records and history.
- First conviction. If it’s the first conviction,you will face a serious misdemeanor charge. This is punishable by up to 1-year jail term or a fine between $315 and$1,875 or both.
- Second conviction. If you have previously been convicted of any drug-related offense you will face an aggravated misdemeanor charge. These charges are punishable by up to 2 years jail term or between $625 and $6,250.
- Third or greater conviction. If you have been convicted of drug possession or any other drug-related offense,you will face a Class D felony. These charges attract up to 5 years in prison or between $750 and $7500 or both. Being accused of a crime like an intention to manufacture or deliver drugs is a serious case.
You may face several years in jail or spend a large amount of money as fin. Under Iowa law, to be charged with a drug offense, evidence such as the number of drugs you were carrying, tools associated with the drug trade and large amounts of money may be used against you
Below are IOWA felony drug charge:
Class A Felony
Case related to manufacturing, delivering and possession. You may get a fine of up to 50 years and $1 million.
- More than1kilogram of heroin.
- More than 5kilograms of methamphetamine.
- More than 1000kilograms of marijuana.
- More than 50 grams of cocaine.
Class B Felony
Case related to manufacturing, delivering and possession. Fine of up to 25 years in prison and $1000-100,000.
- 100grams to 1 kilogram of heroin
- 10 to 50 grams of cocaine
- 100kilograms to 1,000 kilograms of marijuana
- 5gram to 5 kilograms of methamphetamines
Class C Felony
Case related to manufacturing, delivering and possession. You may get up to 10 years in prison and $100 to $5,000.
- 100gramsor less of cocaine.
- 5 grams or less of methamphetamines.
- 100 grams or less of heroin.
- 50to100 kilograms of marijuana.
If convicted under law related to these charges you may face serious consequences such as losing your driving license. If caught in possession of marijuana, you are most likely to be convicted of a crime – this applies even to small amounts. The sentence you get depends on your criminal records history.
1st offense marijuana possession If charged for the first time you may be charged for 6 months in jail or fine of up to $1,000. 2nd offense marijuana possession . If you have been convicted of such an offense before you are likely to get a serious sentence. This may be a 1-year jail term or $1500 fine. 3rd marijuana possession or greater multiple possession. In such instances, you are likely to face up to 2 years in jail or a $6250 fine.